Disclosure: This guide is published by Cloom Tech. Cloom Tech is one of the ten companies listed below, and the decision block at the end is a sponsored, disclosed element that routes you to Cloom Tech.
RF cable assemblies carry signal at specific frequencies and impedances, so a build error that would be invisible on a standard power cable shows up as signal loss, reflections, or failed test data on an RF assembly. The supplier you choose affects frequency performance, test documentation, and whether the assembly holds up outside a lab. This guide does not rank suppliers. It sets out the questions to ask and gives the same facts for each company so you can compare them yourself.
What should I check before shortlisting an RF cable assembly manufacturer?
Use these criteria for every company in this guide:
- Quality system: which certifications the company publishes, and at which sites — a group-wide certificate and a single-facility certificate are not the same thing.
- Frequency range and testing: what frequency range the company states for its RF assemblies, and how it says it validates that performance (test equipment, 100% testing claims, serial-numbered reports).
- Where the assembly is built: the company’s own stated locations. A certification scoped to one plant does not apply to every plant the company operates.
- Scale and facility fit: headcount, facility size, or years in operation, where the company publishes them — and whether the figures are internally consistent on the company’s own site.
- Prototype-to-production path: whether the company says it supports both, and what configurator or quoting tool it offers.
Figures below come from each company’s own website unless marked otherwise. Anything a company did not publish is left out, not estimated. Where a company’s own site states two different figures for the same thing, both are noted rather than one being silently picked.
Which RF cable assembly manufacturers serve buyers today?
The ten companies are listed in alphabetical order. Order does not indicate quality or preference.
Amphenol Custom Cable
- Scale (company-stated): “over 35 years of copper cable engineering and manufacturing expertise.”
- Locations: 38,000 sq ft headquarters in Tampa, Florida; additional network-infrastructure service sites in Orlando, Dallas, Charlotte and Atlanta.
- Certifications (company-stated): IPC/WHMA-A-620, ISO 9001:2015, TL9000:2016-H R6.3/5.7. No certificate numbers or expiry dates are shown.
- Product scope: copper and RF cable assemblies, fiber optic assemblies, and box-build services; an online “PunchOut Tool” cable configurator.
- Trade-offs — Strength: a named, concrete Tampa facility with a real street address and four current certifications listed on its own site.
- Trade-offs — Limit: this site does not state a specific frequency-range (GHz) figure for its RF assemblies, and does not give employee count or output volume.
Aptiv Interconnect (formerly Winchester Interconnect)
- Brand status (company-stated): Aptiv’s own product page labels this group “Aptiv Interconnect (Formerly Winchester Interconnect).” Winchester Interconnect was acquired by Aptiv in 2018 and the Winchester brand name has been retired.
- Locations: Dayville, Connecticut; Garden Grove, California; Haverhill, Massachusetts; Houston, Texas, plus additional sites in Mexico and Asia not itemized on the page reviewed.
- Certifications (company-stated): AS9100:2016, AS9100D and ISO 9001:2015, ISO 14001:2015, ISO 45001:2018, ISO 13485:2016, OHSAS 18001:2007, Nadcap (including AC7121), UL-E153549 and UL-E212299. No validity dates or per-site mapping are shown.
- Product scope: RF and microwave interconnect products rated DC to 110 GHz, serving medical, industrial, telecom, automotive, commercial-vehicle, energy, enterprise and robotics markets, among others listed in its navigation.
- Trade-offs — Strength: a wide frequency range (DC–110 GHz) and a long certification list confirmed on the current site.
- Trade-offs — Limit: the company’s own current site does not state a founding year, and does not use the named technologies (PhaseTite, TruTest) the old listicle attributed to it. Confirm which specific facility would build your assembly and which certifications that facility currently holds, since the page lists certifications at a group level without a site key.
Carrio Cabling
- Founded: 1988, by Glen Carrio (“more than three decades” per the company’s own wording).
- Locations: 4920 Centennial Blvd, Colorado Springs, Colorado. The site does not state whether this is its only facility.
- Certifications (company-stated): ISO 9001:2015, ISO 13485:2016, UL, IPC (named without certificate numbers), REACH and RoHS compliant.
- Product scope: custom cable assemblies including RF coax, with in-house overmolding, mold-making, tooling and SolidWorks/stereolithography prototyping. “100% USA Manufacturing.” Markets listed include medical, oil field, RF coax, and general industrial.
- Trade-offs — Strength: linked, current ISO 9001 and ISO 13485 certificates and concrete in-house tooling/prototyping capability.
- Trade-offs — Limit: the company’s own site does not state employee count, facility size, or test equipment used on finished assemblies, so ask directly what testing documentation comes with your build.
Cloom Tech (Hebei Cloom Electronic Technology Co., Ltd)
Cloom Tech is one of the ten companies in this guide.
- Founded: 2017 (“Since 2017,” company homepage).
- Locations: Shijiazhuang, Hebei, China (headquarters and plant; 5,000 sqm factory space per the company’s homepage); Cavite, Philippines (plant, near Manila); Medley, Florida, USA (office).
- Scale (company-stated): 1,000+ cumulative clients since 2017.
- Certifications (company-stated): ISO 9001; IATF 16949; ISO 13485 (for its wiring-harness business); RoHS and REACH compliant. Cloom Tech’s own certificate documentation also shows IATF 16949 valid to 2029-08-08 and IPC/WHMA-A-620E CIS operator/inspector qualification.
- Product scope: custom RF cable assemblies for telecommunications, medical, industrial, IoT and satellite-communications applications, built to customer specifications.
- Trade-offs — Strength: a stated 5,000 sqm facility spanning two manufacturing countries and four named certifications/compliance marks (ISO 9001, IATF 16949, ISO 13485, RoHS/REACH) on its own site.
- Trade-offs — Limit: Cloom Tech does not manufacture in the United States — its US site is an office, not a plant — so confirm lead time and logistics for your build. It does not sell standalone connectors, does not sell standard or pre-built cables, and does not offer design services; it consults and manufactures to customer-supplied specifications only.
Meridian Cable Assemblies
- Founded: 1994 (“we opened our first facility” in 1994). The company’s own site is internally inconsistent on its age across different pages.
- Locations: 7,000 sq ft facility in St. Augustine, Florida; 30,000 sq ft facility in Tanggu, China.
- Scale (company-stated): inventory of over 5,000 molds and tooling sets. Roughly 70% custom.
- Certifications (company-stated): the Tanggu, China facility is UL-approved (wire/cable extruder and manufacturing facility) and ISO 9001-certified — but the company’s own site gives two different versions of that ISO certificate date. Both are scoped to the China facility only; the Florida site carries no certification claim on the company’s own site. IATF 16949 is not mentioned anywhere on the current site.
- Product scope: custom RF/coax cable assemblies and overmolding, conductor sizes stated as 34 AWG to 12 AWG on the home page (a separate coil-cord page states a different range).
- Trade-offs — Strength: concrete, verifiable facility sizes (7,000 / 30,000 sq ft) and mold inventory (5,000+) confirmed on its own site.
- Trade-offs — Limit: its certifications apply to the China facility only, not the Florida site, and the company’s own pages disagree on the ISO 9001 version and company age — ask which facility would build your assembly and request that facility’s current certificate directly.
RF Industries
- Founded: not stated on the company’s current site (no page gives a founding year, age, or an “X years” figure).
- Locations: San Diego, California (headquarters) plus additional operations in Long Island, New York; Milford, Connecticut; North Kingstown, Rhode Island; and Parsippany, New Jersey. No facility square footage is stated on the site.
- Certifications (company-stated): separate certificates per operating entity — RF Industries, Microlab, Cables Unlimited (including AS9100D), and Rel-Tech — each its own document, with no single company-wide certificate shown.
- Scale (company-stated): over 1,500 connectors across more than 100,000 configurations.
- Product scope: RF connectors and cable assemblies; a “PIM Tracker” tool that looks up passive intermodulation test results by serial number (the site does not claim 100% PIM testing, only that results can be looked up).
- Trade-offs — Strength: a large, verifiably current connector/configuration count (1,500+ / 100,000+) and a working serial-number test-lookup tool.
- Trade-offs — Limit: the company’s own site does not state a founding year, a specific frequency (GHz) rating, or a facility size, and does not claim 100% PIM testing — ask directly for the certification and test documentation specific to the entity and facility that would build your assembly.
Rosenberger
- Founded: January 1, 1958 (company history page). Rosenberger’s own history page also states it was the first coaxial-connector maker certified to ISO/TS 16949 (now IATF 16949), in 2002/2003.
- Locations: headquarters in Fridolfing, Germany (roughly 3,500 of the company’s stated ~15,500 employees group-wide), with named facilities in Hungary, Tunisia, China, India, North America (Akron and Pennsauken), Mexico, Brazil, and Sweden.
- Certifications (company-stated, by site): IATF 16949:2016 at 13 sites; DIN EN 9100:2018/AS9100D at Fridolfing, Akron and Pennsauken; ISO 9001:2015 group-wide plus Brazil and Akron; ISO 13485:2016 for Asia-Pacific; ISO 14001:2015 and ISO 45001:2018 group-wide and at several sites; ISO 50001 at Fridolfing; TISAX at several sites; ESCC 3402; DIN EN ISO/IEC 17025:2018 for its calibration lab. No certificate expiry dates are shown.
- Product scope: RF cable assemblies rated DC to 110 GHz. Its own site organizes its business primarily around mobile communication/telecom and semiconductor/test, alongside automotive, industrial and medical markets.
- Trade-offs — Strength: a large, verifiable certification footprint mapped to specific sites, and a wide stated frequency range (DC–110 GHz).
- Trade-offs — Limit: no certificate carries an expiry date on the company’s own site, so ask for the current certificate for the specific plant that would build your assembly.
Samtec Inc.
- Founded: 1976. Privately owned.
- Locations: headquartered in New Albany, Indiana; the company states “40+ Global Locations” and “14+ Global Plants,” with named manufacturing/quality sites including Taiwan; Dongguan, China; Vietnam; Huizhou, China; Costa Rica; Malaysia; Colorado Springs, Colorado; Penang; Scottsburg, Indiana; Singapore; Silicon Valley, California; and Vista, California.
- Scale (company-stated): serves customers in 125 countries; cites 25,000+ customers. No employee headcount or individual facility square footage is published on the pages reviewed.
- Certifications (company-stated, by site): ISO 9001 at corporate and all listed sites; IATF 16949 at corporate, Vietnam, Huizhou, Costa Rica, Malaysia, Penang, and Scottsburg; ISO 14001 at corporate, Huizhou, Costa Rica, Malaysia, and Penang; ISO 50001 at Costa Rica; UL recognitions (file numbers E111594, E225096, E71636, E321359, E357212). No certificate expiry dates are shown.
- Product scope: RF and microwave cable assemblies spanning sub-6 GHz to 130 GHz, including named lines Nitrowave, 50 Ohm Microwave Cables (18–110 GHz), Low Frequency RF Cables (sub-6 GHz, RG-type), Magnum RF, Flexible Waveguide, Ganged Micro Scale, and IsoRate. Connector types listed: 1.00 mm, 1.35 mm, 1.85 mm, 2.40 mm, 2.92 mm, SMA, SMPM, SMP, MCX, MMCX, BNC, high-density BNC, MHF U.FL/W.FL. Markets named on its RF and quality pages: test and measurement, millimeter-wave/next-generation systems, broadcast video, E-band.
- Trade-offs — Strength: one of the widest stated frequency ranges in this guide (sub-6 GHz to 130 GHz) across several named product lines, backed by a certification footprint (ISO 9001, IATF 16949, ISO 14001) mapped to more than a dozen named plants.
- Trade-offs — Limit: the company’s own pages reviewed give no employee count, individual facility size, or a stated list of markets served by its RF line beyond test & measurement and millimeter-wave systems — ask directly which industries its RF line actually serves if that matters to your evaluation.
Star Engineering, Inc.
- Scale (company-stated): “Since 1980 we have been a leader in providing contract manufacturing,” with no further founding detail or employee/facility-size figures given.
- Locations: One Vaillancourt Drive, North Attleboro, Massachusetts. No other sites are listed.
- Certifications (company-stated): ISO 9001-2015 certified, IPC-610 and IPC-620 compliant. No certificate numbers, issuing body, or dates are shown.
- Product scope: an electronics contract manufacturer (PCB assembly) that also lists coaxial cable assemblies among its cable products, alongside multi-conductor, ribbon, battery and other cable types; its markets list includes commercial, automotive, marine, medical, networking/communications, robotics, renewable energy, test and measurement, and industrial equipment, among others.
- Trade-offs — Strength: a straightforward, currently-listed ISO 9001/IPC-610/IPC-620 quality system.
- Trade-offs — Limit: its own site gives no RF-specific detail at all — no frequency range, connector types, or test methodology for its coaxial cable assemblies — so an RF buyer should ask for RF-specific documentation directly.
Y.C. Cable
- Founded: 1985 (“40+ years of OEM expertise”).
- Locations: US headquarters at 48010 Fremont Blvd, Fremont, California, with separate site pages for its Taiwan and China operations.
- Certifications (company-stated, by location): Y.C. USA: ISO 9001. Y.C. Taiwan: ISO 13485. Y.C. China: ISO 9001, ISO 13485:2016, IATF 16949, ISO 14001, and ISO 45001. The company’s own site states “certification scope varies by location and operation.”
- Product scope: RF cable assemblies listed under its OEM Cables line, specifically custom FAKRA cable and custom I-PEX cable; broader markets listed include AI and data centers, automation and robotics, medical, automotive, consumer electronics, industrial, and telecom and communications.
- Trade-offs — Strength: certifications are mapped clearly to each of its three locations rather than claimed as one blanket figure.
- Trade-offs — Limit: its RF cable assemblies are described only as two connector types (FAKRA, I-PEX) with no frequency range or test methodology given, so ask for RF-specific specifications directly.
How do I choose between these suppliers?
- Match the certificate to the facility. Several companies here hold certifications at only some of their sites — ask for the certificate covering the specific plant that would build your assembly, not a group-wide claim.
- Ask for the frequency range and test method in writing. Not every company states a GHz figure or test methodology on its own site; where one isn’t published, request it directly rather than assuming a number.
- Confirm the build location. Headquarters, sales offices, and manufacturing plants are often in different places.
- Test prototype speed. Send the same drawing to two or three suppliers and compare lead times, test documentation, and questions asked.
- Check fit with your volume. Large multi-site suppliers and small single-facility shops serve different programmes differently.
Ready to request a quote?
Sponsored (Cloom Tech): If you want Cloom Tech to quote your RF cable assembly, send your drawing, expected volumes and target certifications. Request a quote at the Cloom Tech contact page. See what Cloom Tech builds as a custom cable assembly manufacturer.