How to Choose a Large-Scale Wire Harness Manufacturer

Compare large-scale wire harness manufacturers on certifications, locations, scale and ownership before you choose a manufacturing partner. This guide does not rank suppliers.
large-scale wire harness manufacturers compared

Disclosure: This guide is published by Cloom Tech. Cloom Tech is one of the eight companies listed below, and the decision block at the end is a sponsored, disclosed element that routes you to Cloom Tech.

Large-scale wire harness manufacturing spans everything from family-owned automotive giants with over 200,000 employees to mid-tier custom shops building to a single OEM’s drawing. Scale alone doesn’t tell you whether a company is the right fit for your program — and, as this research found, corporate ownership in this industry changes faster than most buyer’s guides keep up with. This guide does not rank suppliers. It sets out the questions worth asking and gives the same facts for each company so you can compare them yourself.

What should I check before shortlisting a large-scale wire harness manufacturer?

Use these criteria for every company in this guide:

  • Quality system: which certifications the company publishes, and at which specific sites — a group-wide claim and a single-plant certificate are not the same thing.
  • Where the harness is actually built: the company’s own stated production locations, which are often different from its headquarters.
  • Who currently owns the business: this industry has seen real restructuring recently (spin-offs, majority-stake acquisitions) — confirm you’re quoting the entity that will actually hold the contract, not a predecessor name.
  • Scale and programme fit: headcount, facility count and revenue figures the company itself publishes, and whether that scale suits your volume — a multinational Tier 1 and a custom mid-tier shop serve different kinds of programmes.
  • Product scope: whether the company publishes wire-harness work specifically, custom or catalog, and whether it covers high-voltage or electrified-vehicle applications if you need that.

Figures below come from each company’s own website unless marked otherwise. Anything a company did not publish is left out, not estimated, and said so explicitly.

Which large-scale wire harness manufacturers serve global buyers?

The eight companies are listed in alphabetical order. Order does not indicate size, quality, or preference.

Cloom Tech (Hebei Cloom Electronic Technology Co., Ltd)

Cloom Tech is one of the eight companies in this guide. Its facts below come from cloomtech.com’s own pages, with two certification details and the product-scope statement sourced from Cloom Tech’s internal confirmed reference data instead.

  • Founded: 2017.
  • Locations: Shijiazhuang, Hebei, China (headquarters and factory, 5,000 m² of factory space); Cavite, Philippines (factory, near Manila); Medley, Florida, USA (address).
  • Scale (company-stated): 1,000+ cumulative clients since 2017.
  • Certifications (company-stated): ISO 9001; IATF 16949 (valid to August 2029); ISO 13485 (medical wire-harness production); IPC/WHMA-A-620E CIS (operator and inspector qualification).
  • Focus: custom wire harnesses and custom cable assemblies built to customer specifications. Cloom Tech does not sell standalone connectors, does not sell standard or pre-built/catalog harnesses, and does not offer design services — it consults and recommends, rather than designs, a solution.

Trade-offs:

  • Strength: a stated IATF 16949 certificate and a stated 5,000 m² factory in Shijiazhuang, with ISO 13485 (medical-grade) capability alongside general custom harness work.
  • Limit: far smaller scale than the global leaders in this guide, with production split across China and the Philippines and only an address (not a stated manufacturing site) in the US. It builds to custom specification only — there is no off-the-shelf catalog harness line.

Lear Corporation

  • Scale (company-stated): 164,300 employees globally, 258 facilities, 36 countries.
  • Focus: automotive seating and electrical systems (lear.com “Company” page).
  • Certifications (company-stated): not published as a company-wide list on Lear’s own corporate site as of this check — lear.com’s Company/Suppliers pages have no quality or certifications page. Lear’s own supplier bulletin states that IATF 16949 and ISO 9001 certifications are required of Lear’s suppliers; that’s a requirement Lear imposes, not a claim about Lear’s own facilities.

Trade-offs:

  • Strength: very large multinational footprint, suited to multi-region OEM programmes.
  • Limit: scale-focused; Lear’s own site does not state which of its facilities hold which quality certifications, so ask for the specific plant’s current certificate directly, and confirm whether a company this size will quote small or prototype-only volumes for your programme.

Leoni AG

  • Founded / history: roots trace to a 1569 Nuremberg wire workshop; incorporated as LEONIsche Werke Roth-Nürnberg AG in 1917; took its current holding structure and name, LEONI AG, in 1999.
  • Scale (company-stated): approximately 95,000 employees; active in 23 countries; revenue approximately €3.9 billion (2025, after divesting its Automotive Cable Solutions business — 2023 revenue was cited at approximately €5.5 billion before that divestment).
  • Locations: registered headquarters at Marienstraße 5, 90402 Nuremberg, Germany. Production sites across Western and Eastern Europe, North Africa, the Americas and Asia (specific countries not itemized on the group page checked).
  • Certifications (company-stated): published on its affiliated leonicables.com site rather than leoni.com directly — ISO 9001:2015 and IATF 16949 at named automotive sites (including China, Mexico, Germany, Poland, Hungary, Turkey and Slovakia), plus ISO 14001, ISO 45001, ISO 50001, and ISO/IEC 17025:2018 at two named labs.
  • Focus: low- and high-voltage automotive wiring harnesses, high-voltage battery solutions, power and data distribution, and software-defined-vehicle architecture, for automotive OEMs and commercial-vehicle makers.
  • Ownership note: Luxshare-ICT (also in this guide) holds a 74.9% majority stake in Leoni AG as of 29 April 2026, per Leoni’s own press release — the two companies are no longer independent of each other.

Trade-offs:

  • Strength: a century-plus manufacturing history and a broad European automotive certification base, documented site-by-site on its affiliated cable-solutions site.
  • Limit: now majority-owned by Luxshare-ICT, so confirm current ownership and decision-making before treating it as a fully independent alternative to Luxshare. Its main corporate site doesn’t carry its own certifications page, so pull the certificate from the affiliated site for the specific plant that would build your harness.

Luxshare Precision Industry Co., Ltd (Luxshare-ICT)

  • Founded: established in Shenzhen on 24 May 2004 (company-profile page).
  • Scale (company-stated): more than 105 production bases, more than 25 R&D centres, more than 65 service branches.
  • Locations: production bases in China, Vietnam, Germany, Malaysia, Mexico, India and the Philippines; service branches additionally in Hong Kong, Taiwan, the United States, Singapore, Japan, South Korea and the United Kingdom.
  • Certifications (company-stated): not published on the company-profile page checked in this pass.
  • Focus: communications and data-centre interconnection, automobile parts/systems, and consumer electronics, grouped under the company’s own “Internet of Everything” strategy.
  • Ownership note: holds a 74.9% majority stake in Leoni AG (also in this guide) as of 29 April 2026.

Trade-offs:

  • Strength: a very large production footprint disclosed in bases, R&D centres and service branches across multiple countries, rather than a single flagship plant.
  • Limit: consumer electronics and communications are its stated lead businesses, with automotive as a secondary line. Its own company-profile page doesn’t publish a quality-certification list, so ask directly for the certificate covering the plant that would build your harness.

Motherson

  • Founded: 1975. Headquartered in Noida, India (company history page).
  • Focus: global automotive components, including wiring systems, with a joint-venture history with Sumitomo Wiring Systems dating to 1986 (company history page).
  • Certifications (company-stated): Motherson Group does not publish a group-wide certifications list on motherson.com. Individual plant certificates exist on the company’s own site — for example, Motherson DRSC Deutschland GmbH’s Tschirn and Judenbach sites hold IATF 16949 certificates (TÜV SÜD-issued) scoped to “design and production of precision functional plastic components,” not specifically to wire-harness production.

Trade-offs:

  • Strength: a five-decade track record and a large, highly acquisitive global supply base.
  • Limit: headquarters are overseas from a North American or European buyer’s perspective. The certificates found on its own site cover specific plastics-component plants rather than a wire-harness-specific site, so ask for the certificate that actually covers your build location.

Sumitomo Electric Industries

  • Founded: 1897 (“Since the Company’s founding in 1897,” company history page). Originally Sumitomo Copper Rolling Works; the “Sumitomo Electric Wire and Cable Works” name was established in 1911. The site does not state the year it took its current name.
  • Locations (HQ): 4-5-33, Kitahama, Chuo-ku, Osaka, Japan (company profile page).
  • Scale (company-stated, as of March 2026): 302,972 consolidated employees (7,209 non-consolidated); 400 subsidiaries/affiliates (95 in Japan, 182 in Asia/Oceania, 50 in the Americas, 73 in EMEA); consolidated revenue ¥5,110,171 million; sales outside Japan 62.8%, across 40+ countries.
  • Focus: five business segments — Automotive (58% of sales), Environment & Energy (22%), Electronics (7%), Industrial Materials (7%), and Infocommunications (6%).
  • Certifications (company-stated): no group-wide ISO/IATF certifications page was found on the main corporate site. One subsidiary page (a magnet-wire plant in Indonesia) states its own quality system covers ISO 9001, ISO 14001 and IATF 16949 — a single-plant mention, not a company-wide statement.

Trade-offs:

  • Strength: a very large, diversified group with Automotive as its single largest segment by sales, and a long operating history.
  • Limit: the main corporate site doesn’t publish a consolidated certifications statement, so ask for the certificate covering the specific plant that would build your harness. Automotive is the largest segment, but the group also spans several unrelated industrial businesses.

Versigent

  • History: spun off from Aptiv PLC’s Electrical Distribution Systems business as an independent, New York Stock Exchange-listed company (ticker VGNT), completed 1 April 2026. The company’s own site describes a “100-year legacy of innovation and excellence” through that lineage but does not state a specific founding year.
  • Scale (company-stated): 138,000+ employees, including 8,000 described as “Scientists, Engineers and Technicians”; active in 25+ countries.
  • Locations: not published on the pages of its own site checked in this pass (homepage and About page).
  • Certifications (company-stated): not published on the pages of its own site checked in this pass.
  • Focus: electrical architecture systems — power, signal and data distribution for vehicles, including high-voltage systems and EV-charging offerings. Describes itself as “a global leader in intelligent electrical architectures.”

Trade-offs:

  • Strength: carries forward a large-scale, multinational electrical-architecture business with a long operating history, now organized as its own independent public company.
  • Limit: newly independent as of April 2026 — its own site doesn’t yet publish a headquarters location or a certifications page, so confirm both directly before assuming any inherited Aptiv-era certificate still applies.

Yazaki Corporation

  • Founded: its North American site states 1941 (“An independent automotive component maker founded in Japan in 1941”); its EMEA site instead states 1929. Yazaki’s own official pages disagree on the founding year, and no global or name-history page resolves the conflict.
  • Scale (company-stated): the global company page states 218,566 employees across 46 countries/regions and 148 group companies; a separately worded statement on the North American site instead says “more than 300,000 employees in 46 countries.” Revenue is not published on any official page checked — Yazaki is privately held.
  • Locations (HQ): not stated with a city or address on the official pages checked in this pass (commonly reported elsewhere as Tokyo, but not confirmed on Yazaki’s own site during this check).
  • Certifications (company-stated): no group-wide ISO 9001/IATF 16949 statement was found. Individual European plants (for example, sites in Turkey, Ukraine, Morocco and Tunisia) publish their own IATF 16949:2016 certificates as PDFs on Yazaki’s EMEA site.
  • Focus: automotive wire harnesses, power-distribution and connector products, driver-information systems, sensors and hybrid/EV products, organized as Electrical Distribution Systems (EDS) and Electronics & Connection Systems (ECS) business lines serving “automotive to industrial, medical, agricultural, and other specialized applications.”

Trade-offs:

  • Strength: a privately, family-held structure that the company’s own site credits with letting it reinvest in long-term R&D without shareholder pressure; individual European plants publish current IATF 16949 certificates.
  • Limit: the company’s own pages give inconsistent employee figures and no stated headquarters address or group-wide certification list in this check, so verify current figures and the certificate for your specific build location directly with the company.

How do I choose between these suppliers?

  1. Confirm who you’re actually contracting with. This industry has restructured recently — ask whether the entity quoting you is the same one that held the business a year ago, and get that in writing.
  2. Match certifications to your specific plant. A group-wide claim or a sister company’s certificate doesn’t cover the site that will actually build your harness — ask for that site’s current certificate.
  3. Confirm the build location. Headquarters, production sites, and sales offices are often in different countries. Ask for the plant address in writing.
  4. Test prototype-to-production speed if that matters for your programme, by sending the same drawing to two or three suppliers and comparing lead times and questions.
  5. Check fit with your volume. Large multinational Tier 1 suppliers and smaller custom shops serve different kinds of programmes.

Ready to request a quote?

Sponsored (Cloom Tech): If you want Cloom Tech to quote your harness, send your drawing, expected volumes and target certifications. Request a quote at the Cloom Tech contact page.

Hommer Zhao

Hommer Zhao, Director of Cloom Tech, brings extensive expertise in the custom wire harness and cable assembly industry.

Hommer actively engages with leading publications and organizations in the field. He regularly consults resources such as Wiring Harness News publication offering insights into wire harness manufacturing and assembly techniques.

Additionally, Hommer contributes to the Wiring Harness Manufacturer’s Association (WHMA), which provides valuable resources and best practices for professionals in the wire harness industry.

Hommer Zhao also attends the annual Electrical Wire Processing Technology Expo where Cloom Tech has a booth.